Skip to content

Staff honored at annual brunch, award ceremony

June 20, 2011

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

President Jim Doti joined other administrators in giving praise and recognition to Chapman University’s staff members during the June 17 Staff Appreciation Awards Ceremony and brunch.

The annual event recognized this year’s President’s Award Winner, Steve Peralta, senior systems specialist, as well as the Service Award Honorees for landmark service anniversaries.

Peralta, senior systems specialist, received a rousing chorus of cheers and applause when his award was announced.

“I just like helping people. So I kind of task it upon myself to make everyone’s computer experience as easy as possible,” said Peralta, who also received his five-year anniversary pin this year.

Also nominated for the President’s Award were:

  • David Backus, programmer analyst, Information and Systems Technology
  • Terry Boesel, associate director of athletics, Athletics
  • Annette Brito, lead client services specialist, Office of the Registrar
  • Laurie Gates Cussalli, administrative assistant, Leatherby Libraries
  • Derek Horne, film coordinator, Dodge College of Film and Media Arts
  • Jennifer Hunnewell, assistant to the dean, Schmid College of Science
  • Susan Johnson, program coordinator honors programs, Office of the Chancellor
  • Margie E. McCoy, assistant to the dean, College of Educational Studies
  • Marisol Arredondo Samson, director institutional research, Office of the Chancellor
  • Christina Williams, administrative assistant, Argyros School of Business and Economics

Friday’s ceremony also included the traditional comic video of administrators paying surprise visits to employees receiving the highest service awards for years served. In addition, many staffers left with door prizes generously donated by Angels Baseball, The Beach Pitt BBQ, Bowers Museum, Habit Burger, In-N-Out Burger, Ruby’s Diner, South Coast Repertory, Chapman Athletics, Purchasing Department, Public Safety and University Advancement.

Service Award Recipients included:

30 Years

Lody Reygers

John Woodard

25 Years

Veronica Alvarado

Virginia Nowakowski

Frank Warren

20 Years

Pamela Gibbons

Julie Mullican

Juventino Raya-Serrato

Gloria Tapia

15 Years

Barbara Babcock

Briana Bohn

Edward Carrillo

Kathleen Clark

Lorin Geitner

Suk Bae Kim

Denise Peralta

Dennis Ploessel

Patrick Rausch

Hakeem Savage

John Snyder

Jennifer Swindell

Kimberly Talley

Shari Waters

10 Years

Crystal Barney

Jennifer Brady

Anabelle Cabrera

Courtney Calderon

Ismael Calderon

Rick Christophersen

Gloria Davis

Teresa Dolan

Gregory Fisher

Nancy Gregory

Ronald Hall

Serena Healey

Daniel Hoyte

James Lee

Mary Lee

Margaret McDonough

Eduardo Monge

Kevin Ross

Ann Ryan

George Shafer

Thomas Tereschuk

Andrew Valbuena

James Peter Vander Pluym

Miguel Viveros

5 Years

Julie Artman

Terry Boesel

Annette Brito

Joel Colbert

Dana Dacier

Jacqueline Deats

John Dimitroff

Janice Ford

John Funk

Timothy Johnson

LeeAnn Juarez

Michele Kennedy

Ponh King

Justin Koppelman

Arthur Kraft

Daniel Leyva

Christina Marshall

Gregorio Martinez

Colleen McCullough

Vincent Medina

Matthew Miller

Joel Monge

Lauren Musser

Susilo Nugroho

Robert Owens

Timothy Patton

Stephen Peralta

Nicholas Peterson

Bryan Ploessel

Jesus Hau Poot

Allison Segal

Laura Silva

Gale Sorensen

Charles Stephenson

Daniele Struppa

Michelle Sypinero

Lorena Tarnay

Judith Taylor

Scott Thiessen

Lacey Walswick

Joseph White

Trevor Winton

Muriel Woods

Jason Zane

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: