Skip to content

Log on for White House webcast of National Medal of Science awards

November 17, 2010

President Jim Doti and Professor Yakir Aharonov in Washington, D.C., Tuesday at gala honoring medal recipients.

Got plans for 2:20 p.m. today?

That’s when the White House will air a live webcast of President Obama awarding the National Medal of Science to Chapman University’s Professor Yakir Aharonov, Ph.D., and other recipients of the honor, in a White House ceremony. Even from afar, we can all enjoy the excitement of this momentous occasion.  Watch the ceremony live by opening this White House link.

Bestowed annually by the President of the United States, the National Medal of Science is the nation’s highest scientific honor. Dr. Aharonov’s honor recognizes him  “for his contributions to the foundations of quantum physics and for drawing out unexpected implications of that field, ranging from the Aharonov-Bohm Effect to the theory of weak measurement.”

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: